Skip to main content
The End of Meat - Newsletter

The film

GER 2017, 95 min., English / German with subtitles, HD / DCP, Stereo

Although evidence of meat consumption's negative impact on the planet and on human health continue stacking up as animal welfare is on the decline, humanity's love affair with hamburgers, steaks, nuggets and chops just doesn’t end.

In Germany, home of bratwurst and schnitzel, meat is an integral part of the diet. That is, until a few years ago, when perceptions somewhat evolved. Health concerns and meat scandals led to a public debate about the ethical implications of meat consumption and the rise of plant-based diets. Meat producers launched their own vegan products; 100% vegan supermarkets opened; and almost every food manufacturer was adding and labeling vegan options. Is this the beginning of the end of meat? Are we approaching a turning point in the human-animal relationship?

In The End of Meat, filmmaker Marc Pierschel embarks on a journey to discover what effect a post-meat world would have on the environment, the animals and ourselves. He meets Esther the Wonder Pig, who became an internet phenomenon; talks to pioneers leading the vegan movement in Germany; visits the first fully vegetarian city in India; witnesses rescued farm animals enjoying their newly found freedom; observes the future food innovators making meat and dairy without the animals, even harvesting “bacon” from the ocean and much more.

The End of Meat reveals the hidden impact of meat consumption; explores the opportunities and benefits of a shift to a more compassionate diet; and raises critical questions about the future role of animals in our society.

Esther, the wonderpig
The paintings of Artist Hartmut Kiewert
Activist Jenny Brown with rescued sheep.
Cultured Meat - the future of meat production?

Filmmaker

Marc Pierschel was born in 1978 in Hildesheim, Germany. After studying sociology and cultural studies, he filmed EDGE – perspectives on drug free culture, a documentary about the US American youth subculture of Straight Edge.

In 2013, Live and Let Live followed – a documentary about the human-animal relationship and the history of the vegan movement. The film deals with the current debate on the morality of livestock farming and its impact on the environment and health and illuminates the essential perspectives in an impressive and emotionally subtle way. Half financed by crowdfunding, the film ran nationwide in cinemas as well as at film festivals in Germany, Italy and Austria. In 2014, the film was picked up by german distributor mindjazz pictures and in 2016 released worldwide on Netflix

In the summer of 2015, Marc Pierschel accompanied the Berlin activist group 'Hard To Port' on a two-week campaign against commercial whaling in Iceland. The resulting documentation 184 gives an insight into the work of the activists, who are trying to document the brutal whale hunt off the coasts of Iceland.

In his new film The End of Meat, Pierschel continues the ideas and reflections from Live and Let Live and raises the question of a meatless world. 80% financed through crowdfunding, the film was released in german cinemas by mindjazz pictures on September 14th 2017.

Film crew

Written, directed and edited by
Marc Pierschel
Camera
Jeff Wirth
Marc Pierschel
Second camera
Claire Winkler
Thomas Damm
Hendrik Haßel
Kelly Smith
Music
Alice Bacher
Sound Editor
Tim Kahn
Motion Design
Mario Burbach
Executive Producers
Marc Pierschel
Lee Cash
Arabella Gais
Holger Recktenwald
mindjazz pictures
Associate Producers
Dawn Moncrief
Hendrik Haßel
Assistant Producers
Tanja Schmitz
Dreamfactory Liegenschaftsentwicklung GmbH
Peter Eastwood
Christian Wolf
Owen Gunden
Produced by
Blackrabbit Images
in association with
mindjazz pictures

Cast

GERMANY
Hilal Sezgin - Author
Marcel Sebastian - Sociologist
Jan Bredack - Veganz
Bernd Drosihn - Tofutown
Sebastian Joy - ProVeg
Hartmut Kiewert - Artist
Birgit und Johannes - Erdlingshof
USA
Dr. David Nibert - Sociologist
Timothy Pachirat - Political Scientist
Dr. Michael Klaper - Physician
Dr. Brian Machovina - Ecologist
Prof. Bill Ripple - Ecologist
Isha Datar - New Harvest
Ryan Bethencourt - IndieBio
Alex Lorestani - Geltor
Ben Rupert - Real Vegan Cheese
Jason Ball - Research Chef
Prof. Chuck Toombs - Professor of Marketing
Prof. Chris Langdon - Marine Biologist
Steven Wise - Nonhuman Rights Project
Mariann Sullivan - Professor of Animal Law
Prof. Jennifer Wolch - Professor of Urban Planning
Gene Baur - Farm Sanctuary
Jenny Brown - Woodstock Farm Sanctuary
CANADA
Steve, Derek & Esther - Activists & Wonderpig
Will Kymlicka - Political Scientist
Sue Donaldson - Author
Camille Labchuk - Animal Justice Canada
Jo-Anne McArthur - Photojournalist
Anita Krajinc - Toronto Pig Save
UNITED KINGDOM
Laura Wellesley - Chatham House
Dr. Marco Springmann - Oxford Martin School
NETHERLANDS
Mark Post - Professor of Physiology
Marta Zaraska - Journalistin
INDIA
Arpan Sharma - FIAPO
Amruta Ubale - Animal Equality India
Shweta Sood - FIAPO
Virag Sagar Maharaj - Jain Monk
Pramoda Chitrabhanu - Jain Scholar

Crowdfunding

Through our succesful first Indiegogo campaign we were able to raise 33,008 € by July 2015. This enabled us to shoot the film. Through a second Campaign we raised enough funds for the post production of the film on July 11th 2017. We finished the film and were able to reach additional goals, such as a german and english voice-over version, a short documentary titled 'A future imperative' which will material from the film we did not use in the final cut. We also raised enough funds to cover the production of teaching materials for the school version of the film. 

Until this day 1336 supporters from 61 countries helped us to make this film. A big thank you to everyone who has supported us so far! Our second campaign is currently 'in demand' which means you can still support the film by preordering your DVD, download, poster, t-shirt and more perks. Click here to support the film.

© 2015-2017 The End of Meat

Skip to main content
The End of Meat - Newsletter

Der Film

The End of Meat Poster

D 2017, 95 min., Deutsch / Englisch mit Untertiteln, HD / DCP, Stereo

Obwohl mehr und mehr negative Effekte von Fleisch auf Umwelt und Gesundheit bekannt werden und sich die Bedingungen, unter denen Tiere gehalten werden verschlechtern – der Appetit auf Hamburger, Steaks und Co scheint ungebremst.

In Deutschland, dem Land von Bratwurst und Schnitzel, landet Fleisch täglich auf dem Teller. Doch vor einigen Jahren wurden daran Zweifel laut. „Fleischskandale“ und ethische Bedenken führten zu einer öffentlichen Debatte um die Moral des Fleischkonsums und zur Popularisierung fleischfreier Ernährungsweisen. Große Fleischkonzerne begannen pflanzliches Fleisch und Wurst herzustellen, vegane Supermärkte öffneten und vegane Produkte waren gefragt wie nie zuvor. Könnte dies der Anfang vom Ende des Fleisches sein? Steht das Mensch-Tier Verhältnis vor einer Wende?

In The End of Meat wagt Filmemacher Marc Pierschel den Blick in eine Zukunft ohne Fleisch sowie deren Auswirkungen auf Umwelt, Tiere und uns selbst. Dabei begegnet er Esther, einem Hausschwein, welches das Leben von zwei Kanadiern komplett auf den Kopf stellte, spricht mit den Pionieren der veganen Revolution in Deutschland, besucht die erste vegetarische Stadt in Indien, begegnet geretteten „Nutztieren“ in Freiheit, trifft auf Wissenschaftler*innen, die am tierfreien Fleisch forschen, das den 600 Milliarden schweren, globalen Fleischmarkt revolutionieren soll und vieles mehr.

The End of Meat zeigt eindrucksvoll die versteckten Auswirkungen des Fleischkonsums, untersucht die Vorteile einer pflanzlichen Ernährungsweise und wirft kritische Fragen über die zukünftige Rolle der Tiere in unserer Gesellschaft auf.

Esther, das Wunderschwein
Die Bildwelten von Künstler Hartmut Kiewert
Aktivistin Jenny Brown und gerettete Schafe
Cultured Meat - Zukunft der Fleischproduktion?

Filmemacher

Filmemacher Marc Pierschel

Marc Pierschel wurde 1978 in Hildesheim geboren. Nach dem Studium der Soziologie und der Kulturwissenschaften realisierte er 2009 mit EDGE – perspectives on drug free culture ein dokumentarisches Porträt über die US-amerikanische Jugendsubkultur des Straight Edge.

2013 folgte mit Live and Let Live ein Dokumentarfilm über das Mensch-Tier Verhältnis und die Geschichte der veganen Bewegung. Der Film greift die hochaktuelle Debatte über die Moral der Nutztierhaltung und deren Auswirkungen auf Umwelt und Gesundheit auf und beleuchtet eindringlich und emotional subtil die wesentlichen Perspektiven. Zur Hälfte über Crowdfunding finanziert, läuft der Film bundesweit in Kinos sowie auf Filmfestivals in Deutschland, Italien und Österreich. 2014 wurde der Film von mindjazz pictures ins Programm aufgenommen und erschien 2016 international auf Netflix.

Im Sommer 2015 begleitete Marc Pierschel die Berliner Aktivistengruppe 'Hard To Port' auf einer zweiwöchigen Kampagne gegen den kommerziellen Walfang in Island. Die daraus entstandene Dokumentation 184 gibt einen Einblick in die Arbeit der Aktivisten, die mit kamerabestückten Drohnen versuchen, die brutale Waljagd vor den Küsten Islands zu dokumentieren.

In seinem neuen Film The End of Meat setzt Pierschel die Ideen und Überlegungen aus Live and Let Live fort und fragt nach dem Entwurf einer fleischlosen Welt. Zu 80% über Crowdfunding finanziert, startet der Film im Verleih von mindjazz pictures am 14. September 2017 in den deutschen Kinos.

Filmstab

Buch, Regie und Schnitt
Marc Pierschel
Kamera
Jeff Wirth
Marc Pierschel
Zweite Kamera
Claire Winkler
Thomas Damm
Hendrik Haßel
Kelly Smith
Musik
Alice Bacher
Sound Editor
Tim Kahn
Motion Design
Mario Burbach
Executive Producers
Marc Pierschel
Lee Cash
Arabella Gais
Holger Recktenwald
mindjazz pictures
Associate Producers
Dawn Moncrief
Hendrik Haßel
Assistant Producers
Tanja Schmitz
Dreamfactory Liegenschaftsentwicklung GmbH
Peter Eastwood
Christian Wolf
Owen Gunden
Produktion
Blackrabbit Images
Mit Unterstützung von
mindjazz pictures

Besetzung

DEUTSCHLAND
Hilal Sezgin - Schiftstellerin
Marcel Sebastian - Soziologe
Jan Bredack - Veganz
Bernd Drosihn - Tofutown
Sebastian Joy - ProVeg
Hartmut Kiewert - Künstler
Birgit und Johannes - Erdlingshof
USA
Dr. David Nibert - Soziologe
Timothy Pachirat - Politikwissenschaftler
Dr. Michael Klaper - Mediziner
Dr. Brian Machovina - Ökologe
Prof. Bill Ripple - Ökologe
Isha Datar - New Harvest
Ryan Bethencourt - IndieBio
Alex Lorestani - Geltor
Ben Rupert - Real Vegan Cheese
Jason Ball - Lebensmittelentwickler
Prof. Chuck Toombs - Professor für Marketing
Prof. Chris Langdon - Meeresbiologe
Steven Wise - Nonhuman Rights Project
Mariann Sullivan - Juraprofessorin
Prof. Jennifer Wolch - Professorin für Städtebau
Gene Baur - Farm Sanctuary
Jenny Brown - Woodstock Farm Sanctuary
KANADA
Steve, Derek & Esther - Aktivisten & Wunderschwein
Will Kymlicka - Politikwissenschaftler
Sue Donaldson - Schriftstellerin
Camille Labchuk - Animal Justice Canada
Jo-Anne McArthur - Photojournalistin
Anita Krajinc - Toronto Pig Save
GROßBRITANNIEN
Laura Wellesley - Chatham House
Dr. Marco Springmann - Oxford Martin School
FRANKREICH
Marta Zaraska - Journalistin
INDIEN
Arpan Sharma - FIAPO
Amruta Ubale - Animal Equality India
Shweta Sood - FIAPO
Virag Sagar Maharaj - Jaina Mönch
Pramoda Chitrabhanu - Jaina Gelehrte

Crowdfunding

Funded with Indiegogo

Durch unsere erfolgreiche erste Indiegogo Kampagne konnten wir im Juli 2015 insgesamt 33.008 € aufbringen. Diese Summe ermöglichte es uns den Film zu drehen. Im Rahmen einer zweiten Kampagne konnten wir bis zum 11. Juni 2017 genug finanzielle Mittel für die Postpropduktion sammeln um The End of Meat fertigzustellen und darüber weitere Ziele erreichen, wie etwa eine deutsche und englische Voice-Over Fassung des Films, eine zusätzliche Kurzdoku mit dem Titel 'A Future Imperative' für die DVD des Films, sowie die Erstellung von unterrichtsbegleitenden Materialien für die Schulversion.

Insgesamt haben bis heute 1336 Menschen aus 61 Ländern diesen Film unterstützt. An dieser Stelle ein großes Dankeschön an alle, die sich an dieser Kampagne beteiligt haben. Da auch die zweite Kampagne bei Indiegogo erfolgreich war, könnt ihr sie auch weiterhin unterstützen und euch bereits jetzt den Download, die DVD oder ein anderes Dankeschön sichern. 

© 2015-2017 The End of Meat