Skip to main content
The End of Meat - Newsletter

Conference

What would the world look like if we stopped eating animals? How will this change the human-animal relationship? What is the food of the future?

On August 26, 2017, The End of Meat premiered at the sold-out Babylon Cinema in Berlin. One day later, on 27 August 2017, the first The End of Meat conference took place at Heimathafen Berlin. The idea of the conference was to present ideas, visions and research of scientists, philosophers and activists from and around the film, who will shape the future of humans and animals in the coming years.At the conference we will present leading ideas, visions and research by scientists, philosophers and activists that will shape the future for humans and animals in the years to come.

Premiere @ Babylon Kino
Q&A
Conference start
Hilal Sezgin
Prof. Dr. Mark Post
Richard David Precht
Panel
Steve Jenkins & Derek Walter

Presentations






Speaker

Hilal Sezgin

Hilal Sezgin is a freelance journalist and author living in the ‘Lüneburger Heide’, where she runs a small sanctuary. She regularly writes for Die Zeit, taz and the Süddeutsche Zeitung. In 2014 she presented a ‘philosophical plea for animal rights’ with her book ‘Artgerecht ist nur die Freiheit’.

Dr. Marco Springmann

Dr. Marco Springmann is working at the University of Oxford on the program for the future of food. In a recent study, his team concluded that plant-based diets could save millions of lives and dramatically cut greenhouse gas emissions. A second study examined how a global carbon tax on meat and milk could contribute to that solution.

Dr. Mark Post

Prof. Dr. Mark Post is considered the pioneer of the cultured meat movement. In 2013, he presented his first laboratory-grown burger in London, financed by Google co-founder Sergey Brin. At that time still worth 250,000 €. He estimates that the first burger could hit the supermarket shelves in about 5 years. Dr. Mark Post is a Professor of Physiology at the University of Maastricht.

Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter

Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter tell the unbelievable story of their life-changing experience after they adopt what they once thought to be a micro pig. Esther the wonder pig became a social media phenomenon that has caught the attention of well over one-million followers from all over the world. In 2014 Steve and Derek founded the Happily Ever Esther Farm Sanctuary in Campbellville, Canada, where they continue to rescue abandoned and abused farmed animals.

Mariann Sullivan

Mariann Sullivan is Lecturer in Law of Animal Law at Columbia Law School and host of the Animal Law Podcast, as well as co-host of the Our Hen House podcast. Since retiring from her position as Deputy Chief Court Attorney at the New York State Appellate Division, First Department, she has also taught courses in animal law and farmed animal law at Lewis and Clark Law School, NYU Law School, Brooklyn Law School, and Cardozo Law School.

Marcel Sebastian

Marcel Sebastian is a sociologist at the University of Hamburg. His PhD is on the question of how slaughter workers deal with the killing of animals. He is a founding member of the Group for Society and Animals Studies, the first German-speaking, sociological research group on the human-animal relationship. His research interests include the sociology of the human-animal relationship, the critical theory of the Frankfurt School, and comparative institutional research.

Jens Tuider

Jens Tuider is Executive Assistant at ProVeg (formerly VEBU). ProVeg is a new international food awareness organisation, working towards influencing the food industry, chefs and caterers, activists, other NGOs and the medical profession, while also lobbying for change at a policy level. Their mission is to reduce the global consumption of animals by 50% by the year 2040.

Richard David Precht

Richard David Precht is one of the most famous philosophers in the German-speaking world. His books have been translated into more than forty languages. Since 2012, he has his own show called ‘Precht’ on german national TV. His 2016 book 'Tiere Denken' calls for a new thinking of animals and a change in our behavior towards them. He is a honorary professor at the Leuphana University of Lüneburg and at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin.

Stefan Torges (Moderator)

Stefan Torges is project manager at the Effective Altruism Foundation. He is committed to a future society which takes the interests of all sentient beings into account. He regularly lectures and moderates events on a just relationship between humans and animals in regards to our diet. He previously studied philosophy, neuroscience and cognition at the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg.


We were commited to put together a varied and well-balanced program. This applied both to the topics and to the speakers. Unfortunately, the proportion of male participants was significantly higher. Since this conference has a very special topic, the choice of the potential speakers was very small and a majority of male participants confirmed.

SPONSORS

© 2015-2017 The End of Meat

Skip to main content
The End of Meat - Newsletter

Konferenz

Wie könnte eine Welt aussehen, in der wir keine Tiere mehr essen? Wie wird unser Zusammenleben mit Tieren aussehen? Was sind die Lebensmittel der Zukunft?

Am 26. August 2017 feierte The End of Meat im ausverkauften Babylon Kino in Berlin Premiere. Einen Tag später, am 27. August 2017, fand die erste The End of Meat Konferenz im Heimathafen Berlin statt. Die Idee der Konferenz war es, Ideen, Visionen und Forschung von Wissenschaftler*innen, Philosoph*innen und Aktivist*innen aus und um den Film vorzustellen, die die Zukunft von Menschen und Tieren in den nächsten Jahren gestalten werden. 

In Kürze folgen die Videos der einzelnen Vorträge.

Premiere im Babylon Kino
Filmgespräch und Protagonisten
Begrüßung und Eröffnung
Hilal Sezgin
Prof. Dr. Mark Post
Richard David Precht
The End of Meat Panel
Steve Jenkins & Derek Walter

Speaker

Hilal Sezgin

Hilal Sezgin lebt als freie Journalistin und Buchautorin in der Lüneburger Heide, wo sie einen kleinen Lebenshof betreibt. Sie schreibt u. a. für Die Zeit, taz und Süddeutsche Zeitung. 2014 legte sie mit “Artgerecht ist nur die Freiheit” ein “philosophisches Plädoyer für Tierrechte” vor.

Dr. Marco Springmann

Dr. Marco Springmann arbeitet an der Universität Oxford am Programm zur Zukunft der Ernährung. In einer aktuellen Studie kommt sein Team zu dem Schluss: Würde sich die Weltbevölkerung bis zum Jahr 2050 pflanzlich(er) ernähren, könnte das Millionen von Menschenleben retten und die Emissionen von Treibhausgasen drastisch reduzieren. Eine zweite Studie geht der Frage nach, wie eine globale Klimasteuer auf Fleisch und Milch dazu beitragen kann.

Dr. Mark Post

Prof. Dr. Mark Post gilt als Pionier der Cultured Meat Bewegung. 2013 präsentierte er in London den ersten im Labor gewachsenen Rindfleischburger. Finanziert von Google-Mitbegründer Sergey Brin. Damals noch im Wert von 250.000 €. In etwa fünf Jahren, schätzt er, könnte sein erster Burger im Supermarkt liegen. Dr. Mark Post forscht als Biowissenschaftler an der Universität Maastricht.

Steve Jenkins und Derek Walter

Steve Jenkins und Derek Walter erzählen die unglaubliche Geschichte eines vermeintlichen Minischweines, welches nicht nur ihr Leben komplett auf den Kopf stellte, sondern als Esther das Wunderschwein auf Facebook Millionen von Menschen dazu bewegte Schweine nicht länger als Lebensmittel zu betrachten. Nachdem Esther zum Social-Media-Phänomen wurde, gründeten sie 2014 einen Lebenshof in Kanada für Esther und andere Tiere.

 

Mariann Sullivan

Mariann Sullivan ist Juraprofessorin an der Columbia Law School und Initiatorin des Animal Law Podcast, sowie Mitbegründerin des Our Hen House Podcast. Seitdem sie sich von ihrer Position als stellvertretende Anwältin beim Hauptgerichtshof von New York zurückgezogen hat, unterrichtet sie Tierrecht und Tiergesundheit and der Lewis und Clark Law School, NYU Law School, Brooklyn Law School und Cardozo Law School.

Marcel Sebastian

Marcel Sebastian ist Soziologe der Universität Hamburg. Er promoviert zur Frage, wie Schlachtarbeiter mit dem Töten von Tieren umgehen. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Group for Society and Animals Studies, der ersten deutschsprachigen, soziologischen Forschungsgruppe zum Mensch Tier Verhältnis. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die Soziologie der Mensch-Tier-Beziehung, die Kritische Theorie der Frankfurter Schule sowie historisch und international vergleichende Institutionenforschung.

Jens Tuider

Jens Tuider ist Executive Assistant bei ProVeg International (ehemals VEBU), der ersten internationalen Organisation für bewusste pflanzenbasierte Ernährung. ProVeg spricht alle Menschen an, die an einer pflanzlichen Lebensweise interessiert sind und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den weltweiten Konsum von Tieren bis zum Jahr 2040 um 50% zu reduzieren.

Richard David Precht

Richard David Precht ist einer der bekanntesten Philosophen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Seine Bücher wurden in mehr als vierzig Sprachen übersetzt. Seit 2012 moderiert er die Philosophiesendung »Precht« im ZDF. Sein Buch ‘Tiere Denken’ ruft dazu auf, Tiere neu zu denken und unser Verhalten ihnen gegenüber zu ändern. Er ist Honorarprofessor an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg und an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin.

 

Stefan Torges (Moderation)

Stefan Torges ist Projektleiter der Stiftung für Effektiven Altruismus. Dort setzt er sich für eine Gesellschaft der Zukunft ein, die die Interessen aller empfindungsfähigen Wesen berücksichtigt. In dieser Rolle hält er regelmäßig Vorträge und moderiert Veranstaltungen zu einem angemessenen Verhältnis zwischen Mensch und Tier im Rahmen unserer Ernährung. Zuvor studierte er Philosophie-Neurowissenschaften-Kognition an der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg.


Wir waren bemüht ein vielfältiges, aber inhaltlich treffendes Programm zusammen zu stellen. Dies galt sowohl für die Themen als auch für die Speaker. Leider überwiegt der Anteil der männlichen Vortragenden deutlich. Da wir mit der Konferenz ein sehr spezielles Thema bedienen, war die Auswahl der potentiellen Speaker sehr gering. Von den eingeladen Personen haben überwiegend männliche zugesagt.

PROGRAMM

Konferenzsprache: Englisch & Deutsch

10.00 Dr. Marco Springmann (EN) How changes towards more plant-based diets would affect our health and climate
11.00 Hilal Sezgin (DE) Mit Tieren leben
12.00 Mittagspause  
13.00 Dr. Mark Post (EN) The beginning of Cultured Meat
14.00 Richard David Precht (DE) Das Ende des Fleischkonsums - Segen für alle? Bedingungen und Herausforderungen des gesellschaftlichen Wandels
15.00 Marcel Sebastian, Jens Tuider, Richard David Precht, Dr. Mark Post, Mariann Sullivan (EN) Panel: The End of Meat - perspectives of change: The role of flexitarians, cultured meat and economic reasons
16.00 Kaffeepause  
16.30 Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter (EN) Esther the Wonder Pig: Changing the World One Heart at a Time‎

SPONSOREN

© 2015-2017 The End of Meat